CSEA Board of Directors

The CSEA Board of Directors consists of five Constitutional Officers and 10 Area Directors, each of whom is democratically elected by CSEA members. All Board members are volunteers who work regular classified jobs. Only the Association President is granted full release time from his/her classified job.

Ben Valdepeña Association President

Ben Valdepeña

Association President

Ben Valdepeña is the Association’s 45th president since 1927. Valdepeña is a lead custodian with the Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified School District, where he has worked since 1983. A CSEA member for more than three decades, Valdepeña has held a variety of elected and appointed leadership positions. Valdepeña was also honored as CSEA’s Activist of the Year in 2007 for his outstanding organizing efforts.

Valdepeña is an active leader in the Labor Community, serving as an Executive Vice President of the California Labor Federation and Co-Chair of Labor United for Universal Health Care.

  • Vacant First Vice President The first vice president seat on the board will remain vacant until the executive officer elections are held at CSEA’s 2017 conference.
  • Delores Burke Second Vice President Delores Burke works as a Special Education Secretary for Corona Norco Unified School District.
  • Kerry Woods Secretary Kerry Woods works as a Senior Account Clerk for the Fullerton Joint Union High School District.
  • Allan D. Clark Past President Allan D. Clark is a retired General Maintenance/Grounds worker from the Riverbank Unified School District.
  • Martha Penry Area A Director Martha Penry is a retired Special Education Paraeducator from the Twin Rivers Unified School District.
  • Frank Rodriguez Area B Director Frank Rodriguez works as a Maintenance Specialist for Windsor Unified School District.
  • Marcos Gonzalez Area C Director Marcos Gonzalez is a Groundskeeper for Gilroy Unified School District.

  • Rameldia Mark Area D Director Rameldia Mark works as a Special Needs Bus Driver for Antelope Valley Schools Transportation Agency.
  • Sylvia Diaz Area E Director Sylvia Diaz is a Bus Driver/Custodian for the Golden Valley Unified School District.
  • Dale Sorenson Area F Director Dale Sorenson works as a Special Education Paraeducator for Silver Valley Unified School District.
  • John Nieto Area G Director John Nieto is a Maintenance Worker for the Construction Department in the Montebello Unified School District.
  • Bill Hagar Area H Director Bill Hagar is a Custodian/Groundskeeper for La Vista/La Sierra High Schools in the Fullerton Joint Union High School District.
  • Don Snyder Area I Director Don Snyder is a Lead Maintenance worker in School Support Services for the Templeton Unified School District.
  • Bea Mora Area K Director Bea Mora works as a Bus Driver/Mechanic Helper for the Central Union High School District.