Activist of the Year Award

Peggy Wray

About the award

The Richard C. Bartlett Activist of the Year Award recognizes members who vigorously advocate in political activities or specific causes important to the mission and goals of CSEA.

Nomination criteria

Nominees must have performed any significant act of a humanitarian nature:

  • Assisted in building the union
  • Helped to put forward the face of CSEA into the community
  • Attended mobilizing events or volunteered in campaigns
  • Promoted the Victory Club
  • Advanced the labor movement in general by participating in coalitions or other rally-building partnerships
  • Involved other rank and file members in union activities

Application period has ended.

Peggy Wray named 2017 Activist of the Year

Peggy Wray, member of Lakeside Chapter 240, was named the 2017 Richard C. Bartlett Activist of the Year. Wray is an inspiration to her members, helping them to build power in the school district. In addition to increasing her chapter’s Victory Club members from five to 75, she helped build an alliance with the district’s teachers union to strengthen Chapter 240’s political presence. She said CSEA’s many training opportunities helped her grow as an activist.

“Without the Membership Unity Program, Organizing Institute and my strong Labor Relations Representative, I wouldn’t be here today,” she said.

Wray has been a member of Chapter 240 since 1979, employed by the Lakeside Union School District. Wray has mobilized the membership and continues to educate members on the importance of electing classified friendly school board candidates. Through her strong leadership, Wray has extended an alliance to the teachers’ union that has strengthened CSEA’s political presence at the school district.

She has received multiple awards for her commitment: 2014 Unsung Hero Award by the San Diego Field Office; CSEA Campaign for Outstanding Service and Leadership Certificate; the 2016 Classified School Employee of the Year from Lakeside Union School District. She is respected by her peers and the administration.

Wray has been instrumental in building the chapter membership and Victory Club involvement. The chapter originally had only five Victory Club members. By her influence, she ignited the chapter to well over 75 Victory Club members. Her leadership and positive personality makes her stand out in a crowd by representing CSEA in such a professional way.

Previous award recipients

2017 Peggy Wray, Lakeside Chapter 240
2016 Jerry Chames, Kerman Unified Chapter 279
2015 Sandra Rivera, Rio Hondo College Chapter 477
2014 Lora Lee, Desert Sands Chapter 106
2013 Mary Lavezzoli, Old Adobe Chapter 646
2012 Rebecca Hadley, Monterey COE Chapter 35
2011 David Kong, Monterey COE Chapter 35
2010 Debra Cook-Lewis, Wilsona Chapter 723
2009 Eunice Grigsby, LACOE Paraeducators Chapter 624
2009 Isa Weichmann, Sylvan Chapter 73
2008 Eddie Padilla, Merced City Schools Chapter 530
2008 Michael Casias, Merced City Schools Chapter 530
2007 Ben Valdapena, Yucaipa-Calimesa Chapter 209
2006 Rebecca Scheel, Gilroy Chapter 69
2005 Jane Bausa, San Diego Paraeducators Chapter 759
2004 Tony Rojas, Turlock Chapter 56