Community College Classified Employee of the Year Award Program


The California Community Colleges Board of Governors honored four outstanding community college employees with its 2016 California Community Colleges Classified Employees of the Year award. Three of the recipients are CSEA members.

The Community College Classified Employee of the Year Award, presented by the of Board of Governors along with the Chancellor’s Office and the Foundation for California Community Colleges, recognizes outstanding classified employees throughout the community college system.

Up to six recipients are selected and honored annually. Classified employees with a minimum of 5 years of service as a permanent employee within the nominating Community College District (full-time or part-time) are eligible for the award. The nominees are evaluated on their commitment to: the mission of community colleges; professional ethics and standards; serving the institution through participation in professional and/or community activities; and serving as a leader beyond the local institution.

Recipients are nominated by their colleagues and endorsed by the local Board of Trustees. No later than March 15th each local Board of Trustees may forward the information for one nominee to the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office. Award winners are selected by representatives of the Community Colleges Board of Governors, Chancellors Office, and the Foundation for California Community Colleges. Recipients will be announced and honored at the May Board of Governors meeting.

Awards News

2017 Life Membership and Honor Roll

Conference Delegates posthumously bestowed Life Membership to former Association Secretary and Area C Director Donna D’Arcy. Four CSEA retirees were also added to CSEA's Honor Roll: Roxie Allen, Jeanne Foster, Arlina Montez and Rowena Smith.

2017 Activist of the Year

Peggy Wray, of Lakeside Chapter 240, was named the 2017 Richard C. Bartlett Activist of the Year.

2017 Humanitarian of the Year

Delia Alvarado from Retiree Council 5008 was named the 2017 William P. Schwartz Humanitarian of the Year.

CSEA member wins RISE Award

Paul Rasso, an office equipment technician for Colton schools and member of Colton Chapter 244, was honored in Washington D.C. as one of the 2017 Recognizing Inspirational School Employees (RISE) Award winners.

2017 Members of the Year

CSEA congratulates its 2017 Members of the Year: Lisa Montelli, Kim Richins, Sue Studer, Maria Tapia and Ron Walker.

2017 Classified School Employees of the Year

Six outstanding classified employees were honored by the California Department of Education for their dedication to our public school students. Five of the employees are CSEA members.

2017 Communication Awards

A total of 117 entries were received from 33 chapters and one retiree council. The CSEA Communications Committee commends all who entered the competition.