123 movies

CSEA’s Anne Thatcher honored with national RISE Award


Ben Valdepeña and Anne Thatcher


Anne Thatcher with members of the CSEA Board of Directors


Anne Thatcher


RISE Award winners with Congressional Representative Dina Titus


RISE Award Winners


Ben Valdepeña


Congressional Representative Dina Titus


UCSE Coalition and RISE Winners

Anne Thatcher, of Ceres Chapter 140, was honored in Washington, D.C. as one of the 2019 Recognizing Inspirational School Employees (RISE) Award winners. The award was given to four individuals from across the country who are doing extraordinary and inspirational things in their schools and communities to promote quality education, foster positive learning environments, and ensure student success.

Association President Ben Valdepeña presented Anne with her RISE Award on June 12 and was joined by several other CSEA board members, as well as representatives from the United Classified School Employees Coalition. Congressional Representative Dina Titus also attended and spoke at the presentation. She authored the Recognizing Achievement in Classified School Employees Act (H.R. 276) that was recently signed into law to establish a new national award for classified school employees.

Anne started work as a secretary in Ceres Unified in 1992, and retired this year as a highly respected office manager. She was commended for her meticulous work that allowed teachers and administrators to focus on what’s most important: the students. When the custodial staff ran into roadblocks getting maintenance done, they went to Anne to help clear the way, so students could have safe spaces to learn. When the band teacher needed instruments tuned, Anne made sure the instruments were properly handled so the young musicians playing them can keep their tunes going. Due to her strong work ethic and abilities, Anne has in the past been recognized as Ceres’ District Classified Employee of the Year. She also received CSEA’s Member of the Year Award in 2018.

Related Video: Anne Thatcher named 2018 CSEA Member of the Year